World of Outlaws visit Wilmot Raceway in Wisconsin again in 2018 on June 2 for the Badger 40

WILMOT, Wisc. — November 17, 2017 — The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series will visit Wilmot Raceway in Wisconsin again in 2018 on Saturday, June 2 for the Badger 40. The event will mark the series sixth visit by “The Greatest Show on Dirt” to the semi-banked, third-mile in Southeast Wisconsin.

David Gravel, who had a career year this past season, winning 18 A-Feature races, while finishing third in points, was victorious at Wilmot Raceway for the third straight time in 2017. Gravel was also victorious at Wilmot Raceway with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series in 2014 and 2016.

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series raced for the first time at Wilmot Raceway in 2006, with Mark Dobmeier, who was filling in for Brooke Tatnell, scoring his first-career series win in one of the most thrilling events in series history. Dobmeier edged Jeremy Campbell and Daryn Pittman by mere inches in a thrilling last lap battle for the win. Each driver led at one point during the final lap, with Campbell ending up second and a spinning Pittman crossing the line third.

Pittman would make up for that near-miss when the series returned to Wilmot in 2008. He traded the lead a couple of times with Chad Kemenah in the first half of the race, before pacing the final 19 circuits to score the win.

The 2017 campaign was another historic one for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series as 20 drivers picked up wins. Leading the way was Donny Schatz, who scored his ninth series championship and became the first driver in series history to win 20 or more A-Feature events in five consecutive seasons. Gravel finished third in points for the second consecutive year.

Brad Sweet was nearly as consistent as Schatz, picking up 72 top-10 finishes just two less than the champion, with 56 of those being top-fives. Sweet visited victory lane five times in 2017 en route to finishing second in points. Pittman ended up fourth in the standings, while picking up three wins, with Shane Stewart, who reached victory lane eight times, rounding out the top-five in points.

Jason Johnson, who won four races finished sixth in points, followed by Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award winner Sheldon Haudenschild in seventh. Kraig Kinser, who had a win was eighth, with Logan Schuchart, who earned a career-high four victories, in ninth and rookie Brent Marks rounded out the top-10.

Information on tickets for The Badger 40, featuring the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series event at Wilmot Raceway in Wisconsin on Saturday, June 2 will be available soon

Twitter: @SLS_Promotions

Facebook: SLS Promotions LLC


(Ken Simon Photo)



Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :