Leer Claims Victory at Colby Chrysler Night

Unity, WI. July 21— Colby Chrysler sponsored the A-Mod and B-Mod special races on Friday night. Matt Leer took the feature victory for the A-Mod’s while Paul Niznik won the B-Mod feature.
Niznik started the night just outside of the pole position but pulled out to a large lead at the start of the feature.

Newcomer Kelsy Hayes battled Michael Truscott for second early on and the two swapped positions back and forth a few times.

After a few early cautions, the climactic part of the feature came during a restart. As the field was crossing the start/finish line, cars towards the front of the pack spun causing a seven-car pile-up. Anthony Forfa Jr. and Michael Truscott were the only two cars involved in the wreckage that continued to race after the caution.

Grant Southworth took over the second position as the race resumed but the yellow flag waved soon again as the 47 of Tad Schoonover spun and scraped the front stretch wall.

Hayes regained the runner-up position after the restart and held the position for the rest of the feature as she finished about four car lengths behind Niznik.

The top five finishers for the B-Mods, starting with first, were: Niznik, Hayes, Southworth, Truscott and Cole Smith.

Karl Genett took home the win for the Street Stock series as he dominated the race early and often.

Kyle Genett quickly made his way towards the front of the pack from fifth place to put his car into the second spot. Jared Lindner battled Kyle Genett for the second position and took the position from Kyle Genett after a late race caution.

The field spread out single file for the remainder of the race as Karl Genett collected his second feature win of the season at Spring Lake Speedway.

The top five finishers for the Street Stocks, starting with first, were: Karl Genett, Lindner, Kyle Genett, Kevin Bogdanovic and Nate Hauge.

One thousand dollars was on the line for the winner of the A-Mod feature Friday night. Leer, starting on the pole, drove away from the pack to start the feature.

A mid-race caution bunched up the pack and allowed Paul Niznik to catch up to Grant Southworth in the second position. After swapping positions back and forth, Niznik took the second spot from Southworth for the rest of the race.

Leer finished the race more than a half lap ahead of second place for his first feature win of the season at SLS.

The top five finishers for the A-Mods, starting with first, were: Leer, Niznik, Southworth, Chris Oertel and TJ Smith.

Jason Havel finished in the victory circle for the Pure Stocks in what was a heartfelt battle to win before he undergoes extensive treatments to battle a severe health issue. Havel was emotional as his family and friends celebrated with him in victory circle.

Brent Hauge pulled out to the early lead as the 5 of Havel made his way through the pack from the sixth position.

Jim Thur and Brandon Hakala jockeyed for the third position that finished with Hakala taking the position from Thur.

Havel challenged Hauge as the race came to a close and provided a memorable final lap. As the two drivers entered turn one for the final time, Havel gave Hauge a nudge to take the lead. Hauge spun in turn four as he charged back to try to re-take the lead from Havel, but to no avail and finished in the sixth position.

The top five finishers for the Pure Stocks, starting with first, were: Havel, Hakala, Thur, Randy Luedtke and Ken Heser.

Kasey Gross took home another feature win at SLS this season for the Hornet series Friday night.

The 4R of Tyler Raab jumped out to an early lead, but Gross quickly overtook Raab and kept a close lead over Raab. Raab kept Gross within three to four car lengths but could not close the gap as Gross held on for the win.

The top five finishers for the Hornets, starting with first, were: Gross, Raab, Jake Halterman, Mark Schoone and Chad Halterman.

Racing returns to Spring Lake Speedway on Friday, July 28 for NASCAR Whelen Night. The night will include mechanic and pit crew races as well as all regular racing series. Gates open at 5:15 p.m. with racing action starting at 7:30 p.m.



Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com